Register and Login
Forgot  Register
Nursing World Nigeria Logo
  • Get Free Nursing News Alert

FG Announces New Labs for Yellow Fever, Measles Testing
Date Posted: 15/Jan/2020
The Federal Ministry of Health, through the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control has announced the inclusion of three new laboratories into national yellow fever/measles/rubella laboratory network.
According to a statement signed by the Director-General, NCDC, Dr Chikwe Ihekweazu on Tuesday, the three new laboratories are the University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Edo State, the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Enugu and NCDC National Reference Laboratory, Abuja.
“To build Nigeria’s capacity in line with global standards, we are officially activating three new laboratories, a necessary addition to our existing laboratory network for yellow fever, measles, and rubella. “These laboratories are also part of the global WHO laboratory network. The new laboratories in Edo, Enugu and the FCT will improve our coverage and ensure timely detection and response,” Ihekweazu said in the statement.
The Chief Medical Director of the University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Prof. Darlington Obaseki, promised to ensure that the standards required are maintained for full functionality of the laboratory. The Officer-In-Charge of the World Health Organisation, Dr Clement Lasuba, in the statement reiterated the commitment of WHO and partners to support the strengthening of Nigeria’s public health laboratory.
He said, “We are proud of this milestone and fully recognise NCDC’s leadership in this regard. The inclusion of these three new laboratories will strengthen the national diagnostic capacity; a critical step for Nigeria’s health security. WHO will continue to support the development of public health laboratory services in Nigeria.”

NEW!!! Clinical Skills Practice Workshop Holds in Rivers State For November 2019

Apply and Write NCLEX in Just 5 Months: Step-by-Step Guide for Nigerian Nurses

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER AND ATTEND A FREE AHA BLS ACLS CLASS HOLDING IN: Delta, Anambra, Imo, Edo, Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia and Cross River State

Share this news with friends!!!
Make a Comment or ask a question relating to this news