Register and Login
Forgot  Register
Nursing World Nigeria Logo
  • Get Free Nursing News Alert

Mixed Reactions Trail NANNM Nomination of NMA President for Award
Date Posted: 14/Nov/2019
Mixed feelings have greeted the announcement by the National Association of Nigerian Nurses and Midwives to Nominate the Nigerian Medical Association President Dr Francis Faduyile for an award 
T. A Shettima, the General secretary at NANNM had in a letter to the NMA President noted that 'the association have observed with pride your giant stride and outstanding achievements which resonates with what we stand for. We also observe with pride the fact that you are one time president of this noble association and achieved a lot for Nursing during your time as a leader of our association. To this end, i am pleased to inform you that the leadership of NANNM have deemed it fit to nominate you for the prestifious award of the association 'for promoting inter-professional harmony in the Nigerian Health industry'
nma and nannm president
Nurses took to social media to comment on the development. While some nurses viewed the move as a political master class play by the NANNM Leadership, others questioned what his contributions to nursing are to culminate in him getting the award
Some nurses questioned if he had gone beyond the efforts of colleagues running night shifts without powersource or attedning to 20 patients at a time or going home with meager wage with nurse Dagang sarcastically noting that 'may be my small head is still too young to understand this level of diplomacy
According to nurse Goodluck N, Below is the history of NANNM leadership as given by a cerebral founding member of NANNM,  CHIEF IGNATIUS T. AHULA, FTPD,FCAI, FWACN, R.N, DONM, ADPM, BNSC, PGDM, MBA (MGT). There no where the NMA President, Francis Faduliye, was mentioned as a past executive let alone the president of our great association, NANNM. Read for your self:
Thus Olabode (1996) noted with enthusiasm that after several efforts and despite all odds, the struggle for unity which gained prominence in 1975 was consummated at an inaugural conference of the National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives on the 8th of December, 1977 at the City Hall in Lagos where the first leadership of the association emerged. Interestingly in the elections that took place in February 1978, two female Nurses – Mrs. Hanatu Omole and Mrs. Julie Anigbo emerged as Pioneer President and Deputy President respectively. Also elected were Mrs. Jaiyesimi as Treasurer, Mr. Richmond Amande as Financial Secretary and Mr. Kola Oyedepo as National Coordinator. Mr. Moses A. Olabode was appointed the first Executive General Secretary of the association in February 1978. As gleaned from the official website of NANNM, Mrs Hanatu Omole was succeeded by Mrs. Josephine A. U. Anyamene in 1982. She spent only four years and was succeeded by Mr. Job Micah in 1986. Distinguished participants it should be noted that during the time of Mrs. Josephine A. U. Anyamene in 1982, late Chief John Tor from Benue State was elected National Auditor II of the association. And during the regime of Mr. Job Micah in 1986 Chief John Tor was again elected National Financial Secretary of NANNM. Late Alhaji Abdulsalami A. Shiru took over as President in 1992 at the Kaduna Conference but died barely after one year in office. Mr. Lawrence O. Awowoyin was chosen by NEC in Session at the Owerri meeting in 1993 to succeed late Alhaji Shiru. It will interest you to know that 1 participated fully as a candidate at the Kaduna Conference and 1 emerged as the 3rd Vice National President of NANNM covering zone E.
At the delegates conference at Enugu in 1996 Mr. Lawrence O. Awowoyin was returned as President and 1 was voted again for another four years as the 3rd Vice National President of NANNM. In the Jos delegate conference of 2000, Mr. Pat Emembolu Eze became the New President of NANNM and rule for only four years. At the delegate conference of NANNM in 2004 at Abeokuta, Pat Eze was defeated by late Linus Abdukadir Sabulu who then became NANNM President. However Mr. Sabulu died in  the Bellview plane crash that occurred in Ogun State at Ifo in Lisa village on the 22nd October, 2005. However, the period between the death of late Sabulu and the selection of another substantive president 2006 was filled by late Sabulu’s deputy President Mr. F. O. Omorogbe. Alhaji Lawal Hussaini. Dutsinma was elected through a bye election in 2006. He completed Sabulu tenure and got another four years. He finally handed over to the current president – Nurse Abdrafiu Alani Adeniji in 2012.
Eitherway, Congratulations to the NMA President on his nomination and we all look forward to greater interprofessional harmony and mutual respect among healthcare professionals in Nigeria
For: Nursingworld NIgeria


NEW!!! Clinical Skills Practice Workshop Holds in Rivers State For November 2019

Apply and Write NCLEX in Just 5 Months: Step-by-Step Guide for Nigerian Nurses

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER AND ATTEND A FREE AHA BLS ACLS CLASS HOLDING IN: Delta, Anambra, Imo, Edo, Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia and Cross River State

Share this news with friends!!!
Make a Comment or ask a question relating to this news